Work in progress

The bike’s done with what I brought it in for – front tire, tach cable, sticker. (Hmm, I need to ask about the oil change – it needs that too.) But apparently there’s an odor of fuel that I can’t smell, since I have practically no sense of smell, indicating leaky carbs. Probably the float bowl gasket(s) or something right inside there. I managed to replace one gasket last year, but I couldn’t remove the other float bowl without stripping out the screw heads (stupid Phillips head screws on a motorcycle – why couldn’t they use proper bolts instead?) I’ve already spent some money on the work thus far, but I figured, what the heck, it’s in the shop already, and this guy can do a better job fixing it than I can. So I told him to hang onto the bike a little longer and take care of it. Lack of a fuel leak, even an odor, is good. Once I get this thing back it’ll be in better shape than it’s been since I’ve had it.

Categories: mechanical | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

