Snippets

Just a few quick thoughts…

My TinyTrak3+ is working no differently than before – which is to say, not working. I’ve tested the cable, determined what connects to what, and emailed Byon for further advice. I may end up just ordering a cable for one of my other radios instead. Unless there’s some quick fix, I probably won’t have APRS going for Mt. Washington.

I’ve started trying to figure out my route up there.  So many options, with lots of roads criss-crossing New Hampshire.  It’s the beginning of Laconia Bike Week, and I’ve never been, but I’m wondering if it might be worth avoiding Laconia rather than checking it out, just due to traffic.  I’m not sure.  I do know that my last leg into Conway will be the Kancamagus Highway. I’ve driven it a few times, but never ridden it, so I might as well.  Plus it ends up right in Conway, where I’ve already made plans to spend the night.  I just need to work my way backwards toward home and find an interesting route that avoids cities and traffic.

The weather on top of Mt. Washington this Monday looks like it’ll be sunny and in the 50s.  That’s a lot better than the 30s they’re seeing right now.  I can definitely ride in that, and the views should be good, too.  I’ve saved the Mount Washington Observatory web site in my iPhone bookmarks so I can check the weather at the top before I set off and pack with the appropriate layers easily accessible.

It hasn’t quite sunk in that I’m about to take this trip.  It doesn’t seem real yet.  I wonder when it will.

Categories: ham radio, planning | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

