The Simple Things

The heat and humidity has finally relaxed a bit, and I had an unexpected afternoon off work yesterday. So, among other things, I took a quick spin on the bike. It was no epic trip up Mt. Washington or all over Vermont. It wasn’t even more than 90 minutes long.

It was great fun.

I went from the NH trip straight into planning the VT trip without much of a break (except for my mechanical difficulties, which just added to the crunch time). I’ve been busy with non-motorcycle activities most weekends I haven’t been away on the bike all weekend. And I think I forgot about the pleasure of just hopping on the bike and going somewhere.

It wasn’t entirely unplanned. I set the GPS to take me to Holden and avoid highways, and followed the little red line. After a fuel stop, I set a reverse course, but had it calculate an alternative route to the one I took to get there. Both routes had lots of back roads I’d never seen before that were fun to ride.

This is a good reminder, as I try to figure out where my next weekend trip will take me, that local cruises can be just as fun. They’re much easier to plan, too – no packing, just pick a destination (or not), and ride.

Categories: anecdotes | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

