Better Luck Next Weekend

That’s not just a wish – it’s a fact. I am having better luck planning an overnight for next weekend. In fact, I’ve done it.

It’s pretty much like I described in my last post. On Saturday, I’ll cruise out to Saratoga Springs, NY, to the Saratoga Automobile Museum, partly to ride some fun roads across MA, NH, and VT into NY, and partly to check out the BMW exhibit there – which, I’ve discovered, includes a number of BMW motorcycles as well.  I’ll be sure to take lots of pictures.  From there, it’s a fairly short hop up to Lake George Escape Campground, where I’ll try out this camping by motorcycle thing for the first time.  Sunday I’ll break down camp, visit Fort Ticonderoga, then meander home by a mostly different route. It looks to be a good mix of places I’ve been to and through before and would like to visit again, and a bunch of new places and roads, too.

I spent way too much time this morning just trying to find a campground that would accommodate my travel plans. It’s not that there’s a shortage of campgrounds, nor was there any problem with availability the weekend after Memorial Day.  The big problem is that many places these days are requiring a minimum two night stay.  On this trip, unless I make special arrangements to leave work early on Friday and miss a whole lot of fun back roads by taking the highway out there, I’d still get there long after dark.  And in general, for motorcycle touring, I’m on my way somewhere, stop off for a night, and then keep going, rather than hanging around a particular area for a couple of days.  There are exceptions, but not many.  Sure, I could always reserve for two and just stay the one, but that doubles the cost of the stay.  The most sad part is that it seems to be many of the state parks and campgrounds that have adopted this policy. NY, VT, and MA have all done it.  That’s really too bad, because state parks are generally a great value for the money as compared to private campgrounds.  So I’m paying a little more at Lake George Escape (it’s not a cheap area to begin with), but at least they allow me to stay for just the one night.

Now I need to go pull the tent I’m borrowing out of storage and repack it in a form suitable for motorcycle transport. I also need to evaluate whether my sleeping bag should travel in the bag it came in, or something more weather tight. The forecast for next weekend is looking awesome, so it may not be an issue as far as dampness. I could always carry a garbage bag to wrap it in if necessary.

Categories: planning, weekend trip | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

