Preparation Continues

I thought it would be a good idea to practice loading up the bike for camping before I actually set off Saturday morning. I’m glad I did, because I needed to revise my plan a bit. But it worked out for the better. The tent now lives in a new dry sack, poles and all, and the sleeping bag goes in the smaller one I had before. The foam mat wasn’t going to fit at all or be protected from moisture, so I splurged for a small air mattress. It packs much smaller, and will be much more comfortable to sleep on. I also got a pump that plugs into a cigarette lighter – which I’ve installed on my bike – which inflates and deflates it in under a minute. It fits in the same bag that came with the mattress, which will fit in the trunk. And I picked up some longer bungee cords to secure the tent and sleeping bag to the back seat. They stack up nicely against the top trunk.

Unfortunately, the electrical gremlins in my tail lights returned with a vengeance. So I invested in a butane torch with soldering tips so I don’t need electricity to solder, and proceeded to solder, bypass, and zip tie the heck out of it. I think the problem is in the connector itself, unfortunately. I may consider replacing the whole thing if I can find the parts. But for now it’s ok. Have I mentioned I hate electrical work? At least this time was less painful, and I got to play with new tools with fire.

Oh, and of course I rode a bit yesterday. Not as much as I’d planned, but once I decided to take next weekend’s trip I was less attached to spending all day Monday on the bike. I think I’m about as ready as I can be. The next step is to pack and load up the bike at the end of the week.

Categories: planning | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

